TOWN OF WALLINGFORD, CONNECTICUT

SWEARING-IN CEREMONY

January 7, 2008 8:00 P.M. MINUTES

The following is a list of motions made and acted upon by the Wallingford Town Council at the Swearing In Ceremony held on Monday, January 7, 2008, in the Robert Earley Auditorium of the Wallingford Town Hall. The meeting began at 8:06 P.M.

1. Color Guards: American Legion Shaw-Sinon Post #73, American Legion Siedicki Post #187, VFW Major Raoul Lufbery Post #591, VFW Stanley Budleski Post #9965, AMVETS-Post #83, Wallingford Elks Lodge #1365 and Knights of Columbus

Dean Della Vecchio and the Lyman Hall High School Jazz Ensemble Posting Colors – Roy Cannon – American Legion Post 73 Senior Vice Commander

- Invocation Reverend Dean Warburton, First Congregational Church of Wallingford
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance Lorraine Devaney, Public Celebrations Committee
 National Anthem Dean DellaVecchio and the Lyman Hall High School Jazz
 Ensemble
- 4. Swearing-in of Mayor William W. Dickinson, Jr. by Judge of Probate Phillip A. Wright, Jr.
- 5. Remarks by Mayor William W. Dickinson, Jr.

Mayor Dickinson, using a metaphor from the *Harry Potter* series, spoke about the need to work together to provide for the needs of the citizens of the Town of Wallingford.

2

January 7, 2008 Minutes

6. Swearing-in of the Town Council by Judge Wright

Michael Brodinsky Vincenzo M. DiNatale Nick Economopoulos Jerry E. Farrell, Jr. John LeTourneau Robert Parisi Rosemary Rascati Michael T. Spiteri Vincent F. Testa, Jr.

7. Roll Call – Mayor William W. Dickinson, Jr.

Responding present to the Roll Call given by Town Clerk Barbara Thompson were Councilors Michael Brodinsky, Vincenzo M. DiNatale, Nick Economopoulos, Gerald E. Farrell, Jr., John LeTourneau, Rosemary Rascati, Michael T. Spiteri, and Vincent F. Testa.

8. Mayor Dickinson Presiding at Election of Town Council Chairman

Mr. Spiteri made a motion to nominate Mr. Brodinsky to be Town Council Chair. Mr. DiNatale seconded.

Mr. Spiteri made a motion to close nominations. Mr. DiNatale seconded.

All Councilors present (8) voted to close nominations.

The motion passed.

All Councilors present (8) voted to elect Mr. Brodinsky Town Council Chair.

The motion passed.

9. Remarks by Town Council Chairman

Mr. Brodinsky spoke about the hope and optimism of the incoming Town Council, and the need of the public, the Mayor, the departments, and the Council to work together in order to best serve the town.

10. Election of Town Council Vice-Chairman

Mr. Spiteri made a motion to nominate Mr. Testa to be Town Council Vice-Chair. Mr. DiNatale seconded.

Mr. Spiteri made a motion to close nominations. Mr. DiNatale seconded.

All Councilors present (8) voted to close nominations.

The motion passed.

All Councilors present (8) voted to elect Mr. Testa Town Council Vice-Chair.

The motion passed.

11. Swearing-in of the Board of Education by Judge Wright

Kathy Castelli John J. Cei, Jr. Valerie N. Ford Carol Hayden Thomas Hennessey

Thomas E. Laffin Roxane M. McKay Patrick J. Reynolds Michael J. Votto, Sr.

12. Appointment of the Town Clerk and swearing-in by Judge Wright

Mr. Testa made a motion to nominate Barbara Kapi to be Town Clerk. Mr. DiNatale seconded.

Mr. LeTourneau made a motion to nominate Barbara Thompson to be Town Clerk. Mr. Farrell, Jr. seconded the motion.

Mr. Spiteri made a motion to close nominations. Mr. DiNatale seconded. All Councilors present (8) voted to close nominations.

The motion passed.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

DiNatale – Kapi; Economopoulos – Kapi; Farrell – Thompson; LeTourneau – Thompson; Rascati – Thompson; Spiteri – Kapi; Testa – Kapi; Brodinsky – Kapi

Kapi -5; Thompson -3

Barbara Kapi elected Town Clerk.

- 13. Benediction Reverend Dean Warburton, First Congregational Church of Wallingford
- 14. Prepare to Retire Colors Roy Cannon, Post #73, Senior Vice Commander
- 15. God Bless America sung by Post Commander James Dunn, American Legion Shaw-Sinon Post #73

Town of Wallingford, CT Swearing-In Ceremony 4

January 7, 2008 Minutes

Chairman Brodinsky adjourned the meeting at 8:40 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Erw & Oedwagner

Erin R. Occhiogrosso Temporary Town Council Secretary

Meeting recorded by Erin Occhiogrosso

Mike Brodinsky, Chairman

2-6-08

Date

Barbara Kapi, Town Clerk

Date