SPECIAL TOWN COUNCIL MEETING TOWN OF WALLINGFORD, CONNECTICUT SWEARING IN CEREMONY & ELECTION OF OFFICERS MONDAY, JANUARY 8, 2024 ROBERT F. PARISI TOWN COUNCIL CHAMBERS <u>6:30 P.M.</u> AMENDED MINUTES

The Town Council Meeting on Monday, January 8, 2024, was called to order at 6:30 p.m. There was a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance was said. Councilors in attendance were, Autumn Allinson, Samuel Carmody, Craig Fishbein, Thomas Laffin, Joseph A. Marrone, Christopher Regan, Jesse Reynolds, Christinia Tatta and Vicent Testa. Kristen Panzo Town Clerk and Vincent Cervoni newly elected Mayor were also present.

1. Color Guards: American Legion Shaw-Sinon Post #73, American Legion Siedlicki Post #187, VFW Major Raoul Lufbery Post #591, VFW Stanley Budleski Post #9965, AMVETS-Post #83, Wallingford Elks Lodge #1365, Knights of Columbus, Edison Division Sea Cadet Corps

God Bless America- David Giardina and the Mark T. Sheehan High School Jazz Combo Posting Colors- Adjutant Christopher Geist, American Legion Shaw-Sinon Post #73

2. Invocation- Reverend Dean Warburton

3. Pledge of Allegiance

National Anthem- David Giardina and the Mark T Sheeham High School Jazz Combo

- 4. Swearing in of Mayor Vincent Cervoni by Judge of Prbate Patrick Birney
- 5. Remarks by Mayor Cervoni

Mayor Cervoni thanked everyone who supported him. He spoke highly of the former Mayor William W. Dickson Jr, and of former assistant Aide Joan Stave.

6. Swearing in of the Town Council by Judge Birney

Autumn Allinson	Joseph A. Marrone III
Samuel Carmody	Christopher Regan
Craig Fishbein	Jesse Reynolds
Tom Laffin	Christina Tatta
	Vincent F. Testa Jr.

7. Roll Call- Mayor Vincent Cervoni

ROLL CALL VOTE: ALLINSON: PRESENT CARMODY: PRESENT FISHBEIN: PRESENT LAFFIN: PRESENT MARRONE: PRESENT REGAN: PRESENT REYNOLDS: PRESENT TATTA: PRESENT TESTA: PRESENT

Motion by Laffin and seconded by Testa to move item # 11 before Item #8.

ROLL CALL VOTE: ALLINSON:AYE CARMODY: AYE FISHBEIN: AYE LAFFIN: AYE MARRONE: AYE REGAN: AYE REGAN: AYE REYNOLDS: AYE TATTA: AYE TESTA: AYE

11. Swearing in of the Board of Education by Judge Birney

Rajan Doering Jennifer Passaretti Caroline Raynis Donna Regan

Maureen Reed Melanie Rossacci Marla Roscoe Ray Ross Michael J. Votto, Sr.

8. Mayor Cervoni presiding at Election of Town Council Chairman

NOMINATION: MADE BY: ALLINSON SECONDED BY: REGAN

Councilor Allinson nominated Tom Laffin for Chairman

NOMINATION: MADE BY: CARMODY SECONDED BY: REYNOLDS Councilor Carmody nominated Vincent F. Testa, Jr. for Chairman

NOMINATION: MADE BY: TATTA SECONDED BY: FISHBEIN

Councilor Tatta nominated Joseph A. Marrone III for Chairman

FIRST ROLL CALL VOTE: ALLINSON: LAFFIN CARMODY: TESTA FISHBEIN: MARRONE LAFFIN: LAFFIN MARRONE: MARRONE REGAN: LAFFIN REYNOLDS: TESTA TATTA: MARRONE TESTA: TESTA

LAFFIN: 3 VOTES MARRONE: 3 VOTES TESTA: 3 VOTES

SECOND ROLL CALL VOTE: ALLINSON: LAFFINE CARMODY: TESTA FISHBEIN: MARRONE LAFFIN: LAFFIN MARRONE: MARRONE REGAN: LAFFIN REYNOLDS: TESTA TATTA: MARRONE TESTA: TESTA

LAFFIN: 3 VOTES MARRONE: 3 VOTES TESTA: 3 VOTES

THIRD ROLL CALL VOTE: ALLINSON: LAFFINE CARMODY: TESTA FISHBEIN: MARRONE LAFFIN: LAFFIN MARRONE: MARRONE REGAN: LAFFIN REYNOLDS: TESTA TATTA: MARRONE TESTA: TESTA

LAFFIN: 3 VOTES MARRONE: 3 VOTES TESTA: 3 VOTES

After three rounds of voting with no one being voted as chairman Laffin motioned to take a break to regroup.

MOTION TO TAKE BREAK TO REGROUP: MADE BY: LAFFIN SECONDED BY: ALLINSON VOTE: ALL AYE MOTION: PASSED

With no final decision on which the next Chairman will be there was a motion to have a special meeting to choose chair and vice chair.

MOTION TO HAVE MEETING: MADE BY: LAFFIN SECONDED BY: TESTA

ROLL CALL VOTE: ALLINSON: AYE CARMODY: AYE FISHBEIN: NAY LAFFIN: AYE MARRONE: NAY REGAN: AYE REYNOLDS: AYE TATTA: NAY TESTA: AYE MOTION: PASSED

MOTION TO ADJOURN THE MEETING: MADE BY: ALLINSON SECONDED BY: TESTA VOTE: ALL AYE MOTION: PASSED

12. Retire Colors- American Legion Shaw-Sinon #73

Respectfully submitted,

Kristen Panzo Town Clerk

Meeting digitally recorded

nan II

Joseph A. Marrone III, Chairman

Kristen Panzo, Town Clerk

1/24/24

1/23/24

Date

RECEIVED FOR RECORD 1.23.24 AT 11:20 C. M. AND RECEIVED BY huitac Parzo TOWN CLERK