Senior Property Tax Relief Committee

JUNE 7, 2023

MEETING MINUTES

Present: Jonathan Chappell, Aimee Heinrich, Richard O'Connor, Daryll Porto, Debra Voelker, Janis Small (Corporation Counsel), Kevin Coons (Assessor), Timothy Sena (Comptroller)

Call to Order:

1. Approval of Minutes.

Motion to approve made by Debra Voelker and seconded by Aimee Heinrich.

Motion approved unanimously.

2. Continued Workshop on potential recommendations for senior property tax relief program.

Discussion with staff regarding Assessor's memo and the Program. Discussion with Comptroller regarding fiscal impact and budgeting issues.

3. Discussion and possible action on elements of the program, directions to staff and preparation of a report.

Discussion regarding the various elements of the program.

(a) Motion to require applicant to be at least 70 years old as of the prior December 31st, or have a spouse of the owner at least 70 years old and domiciled together.

Motion made by Debra Voelker and seconded by Jonathan Chappell. Approved unanimously.

(b) Motion to approve the residency requirement and local tax credit percentages as shown on Page 1 of Assessor's Memo dated June 7, 2023 attached to these minutes.

Motion made by Debra Voelker and seconded by Richard O'Connor. Approved unanimously. (c) Motion to add two income limits, \$15,000.00 above the State limit as shown on Page 2 of the Assessor's memo of June 7, 2023, and provide for the adjustment of the limits annually in line with the State adjustments.

Motion made by Debra Voelker and seconded by Aimee Heinrich. Approved unanimously.

(d) Motion to approve the local tax credit amounts for each income category as shown on Chart, Page 2 of Assessor's June 7, 2023 Memo attached to these minutes.

Motion made by Debra Voelker and seconded by Jonathan Chappell. Approved unanimously.

(e) Motion to require a review of the program every five (5) years.

Motion made by Daryll Porto and seconded by Debra Voelker. Approved unanimously.

(f) Motion to authorize the Chairman to prepare and approve the report to the Ordinance Committee.

Motion made by Daryll Porto and seconded by Debra Voelker. Approved unanimously.

4. Possible action on next steps; scheduling next meeting.

No further action.

5. Adjourn.

Motion to adjourn made by Richard O'Connor and seconded by Aimee Heinrich.

Motion approved unanimously.

Adjourned: 6:33 p.m.